Africa Eco Race 2024
Submitted on Thu, 01/18/2024 - 18:19


This Sunday, January 14, 2024, as tradition dictates since the creation of the AFRICA ECO RACE, the 15th edition concluded at Lac Rose in Dakar. A true celebration, this parade of winners and finishers on the podium was organized by the Senegalese Auto Moto Federation, the host organization for this event. The ceremony was preceded by the traditional special stage at Lac Rose, a 22 km stretch from Niokob Beach to the mythical lake, where motorcycles, cars, and trucks still in the race completed the circuit. A final honorable battle that, however, surprises every year.

Czech Tomas TOMECEK was rewarded for his 5th victory in the truck category driving his TATRA. Frenchmen Frédéric HENRICY and Eric BERSEY emerged victorious in the SSV EXTREME RACE challenge on POLARIS, Dutchmen Teun STAM and Rene BARGEMAN won in 4x4 Diesel on TOYOTA, Moroccan Souad MOUTKADIRI finished as the first African female rider with her CAN AM, while Italians Giulio VERZELETTI and Giuseppe FORTUNA clinched victory in the Truck -10000 CC category on their MERCEDES. Finally, Italians Stefano ROSSI and Jacopo CASINI received the Experimental Vehicle trophy on a NISSAN powered by Hydrogen, while Eric and Grégoire COQUIDE won the OPEN category, also on NISSAN. Also, not to forget to honor the race veteran Yoshimasa SUGAWARA, a legend in the discipline and finisher at 83, driving a vehicle he built with his own hands.

In the Classic race, Belgians Tom and Eric CLAEYS were awarded the winners' trophy ahead of their compatriots René DECLERCQ and John DEMEESTER, while Austrian Peter BRABECK-LEMATHE and Frenchman Jean Michel GAYTE completed the podium.

The ceremony at Lac Rose also featured a parade of around fifty vehicles from the auto and motorcycle raid on the podium to present participants with a souvenir medal.


The final highlight of the AFRICA ECO RACE 2024 was the group photo of the 160 members of the organizing team and service providers. Like many competitors, all pledged to be present for the 2025 edition!

Submitted on Thu, 01/18/2024 - 18:19